About the Election

Taiwanese voters will head to the polls on November 24, 2018, to elect mayors and city councilors in six municipalities: Taipei, New Taipei, Taoyuan, Taichung, Tainan and Kaohsiung. The residents of the nation’s 16 counties will also elect commissioners and county councilors.


The mid-term elections are considered a crucial test for President Tsai Ing-wen and her Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), because it is the first major race since Tsai took office in May, 2016. The results are also likely to affect the legislative and presidential elections in 2020.


On Election Day, voters will also be able to voice their opinions on ten referendums. The issues range from gay marriage, gender equity, energy, electricity, Japanese food imports from the area affected by the 2011 Fukushima meltdown, as well as the official name to be used by Taiwan in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.


Note: This year’s referendums are numbered 7-16, with numbers 1-6 decided in previous elections.