Major parties hold on to key localities

DPP Kaohsiung Mayor Chen Chi-mail got re-elected (CNA photo)

Taiwan’s two major parties were able to hold on to leadership positions in the majority of Taiwan’s counties. The ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) kept county magistrate posts in southern Taiwan’s Chiayi County and Pingtung. The opposition Kuomintang (KMT) was able to maintain control of the majority of Taiwan’s localities. That includes victories in county magistrate races in Yunlin, Nantou, Chiayi City, Hsinchu County, Yilan, and Hualien.


DPP Pingtung County magistrate candidate Chou Chun-mi (周春米) won her tightly contested race, while DPP candidate Weng Chang-liang (翁章梁) won in Chiayi County. The DPP’s traditional base is in southern Taiwan.

Meanwhile, the KMT won mayorships and county magistrate positions in the majority of Taiwan’s localities. That includes a re-election victory for Yilan County Magistrate Lin Tzu-miao (林姿妙). Lin won a surprise victory in 2018 as a KMT candidate in a DPP stronghold. Her re-election campaign was tarnished after she was charged with corruption in August.

Taiwan’s elections authorities have yet to certify official results in most places.

News Source:RTI
Editor:Natalie Tso
Source: RTI